Macular Degeneration

How to detect Macula Degeneration and what we at EuroEyes can do about it.

Take care of your mum and dad! Early diagnosis of AMD can save their eyes to become blind.

Age-related macular degeneration (AMD) is the leading cause of blindness in persons older than 50 years in the United States and worldwide, accounting for 8.7 % of all legal blindness worldwide. A main cause of severe vision loss in Macular Degeneration is the development of new blood weasels (choroidal neovascularization = CNV), leading to the exudative or “wet” form of AMD. In patients presenting with Wet Macula Degeneration - treatment with intravitreal injections of anti-vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF) agents may improve visual acuity (VA) by three lines or more in 30–40 % of patients and may prevent blindness.

Early diagnosis and treatment of Macula Degeneration - is crucial in order to preserve vision and the quality of life of patients. Studies revealed that the more early or immature wet Macula Degeneration is detected, the better final Visual outcome is expected following (antiangiogenic) treatment.

You can help to detect early retinal changes or early macula degenerations by you mum and your dad ( or grandparents) at home in front of you computer or smartphone.

The Amsler grid is one easy way to be used for detection of macular disease (AMD) at an early stage. It is a macular degeneration test that checks for any distortion or wavy lines, which are symptoms of AMD. A person with normal vision will see all straight lines. A person with wet macular degeneration sees something like this illustration - the lines are wavy and distorted.

They may also see a "hole" in the middle of the macular degeneration grid.

If any changes are noticed, take contact with your doctor right away.

Nowadays patients can make use of webpage test or smartphone applications which show Amsler grids, making them even more accessible.
A patient diagnosed with dry or wet macular degeneration should have an Amsler grid at home to monitor their vision.

OCT Spectral or optical coherence tomography is the gold standard in the management, diagnosis and follow up of patients with AMD. It provides detailed cross-sectional images of the retina and an ideal follow up and treatment of macula degenerations is possible. The development of OCT has changed the management of AMD patients.

I recommend you to make use of our euroeyes link to the The Amsler grid - an easy methods for the detection of early AMD. You should also test it on you parents or grandparents. If ant distortion or the straits lines takes please - you are welcome to contact us on euroeyes.cn

What Is Macular Degeneration?

Macular degeneration is a deterioration or breakdown of the macula. The macula is a small area in the retina at the back of the eye that allows you to see fine details clearly and perform activities such as reading and driving. When the macula does not function correctly, your central vision can be affected by blurriness, dark areas or distortion. Macular degeneration affects your ability to see near and far, and can make some activities—like threading a needle or reading—difficult or impossible. Although macular degeneration reduces vision in the central part of the retina, it usually does not affect the eye’s side, or peripheral, vision. For example, you could see the outline of a clock but not be able to tell what time it is. Macular degeneration alone does not result in total blindness.  Even in more advanced cases, people continue to have some useful vision and are often able to take care of themselves.  In many cases, macular degeneration’s impact on your vision can be minimal.

What Causes Macular Degeneration?

Many older people develop macular degeneration as part of the body’s natural aging process. There are different kinds of macular problems, but the most common is age-related macular degeneration (AMD).  Exactly why it develops is not known, and no treatment has been uniformly effective.  Macular degeneration is a leading cause of severe vision loss in patients over 65. 

The two most common types of AMD are “dry” atrophic and “wet” (exudative):

 

"Dry" Macular Degeneration (Atrophic): Most people have the “dry” form of AMD.  It is caused by aging and thinning of the tissues of the macula.  Vision loss is usually gradual.

 

"Wet" Macular Degeneration (Exudative): The “wet” form of macular degeneration accounts for about 10 percent of all AMD cases, but a high percentage of those cases develop significant vision loss.  Wet AMD results when abnormal blood vessels form underneath the retina at the back of the eye.  These new blood vessels leak fluid or blood and blur central vision. Vision loss may be rapid and severe.

Deposits under the retina called drusen are a common feature of macular degeneration.  Drusen alone usually do not cause vision loss, but when they increase in size or number, this generally indicates an increased risk of developing advanced “wet” AMD.  People at risk for developing advanced AMD have significant drusen, prominent dry AMD, or abnormal blood vessels under the macula in the fellow eye (“wet” form). 

What Are the Symptoms of Macular Degeneration?

Macular degeneration can cause different symptoms in different people. This condition may be hardly noticeable in its early stages. Sometimes only one eye loses vision while the other eye continues to see well for many years. But when both eyes are affected, the loss of central vision may be noticed more quickly.

 

See a EuroEyes doctor if you notice these symptoms:

  • Words on a page look blurred.
  • A dark or empty area appears in the center of vision.

Detecting Macular Degeneration

One warning sign of macular degeneration is when words on a page look blurred or straight lines look distorted.  You can check your vision daily by using an Amsler Grid.

To Use this grid:

  1. Wear your reading glasses and hold this grid 12 to 15 inches away from your face in good light.
  2. Cover one eye.
  3. Look directly at the center dot with the uncovered eye.
  4. While looking at the dot, see if any of the lines appear wavy, blurred or dark.
  5. Repeat with the other eye.

 

If these lines appear wavy, you should make an appointment with one of our doctors.  A medical eye examination will be performed that includes specialized photography that finds abnormal blood vessels, fluid or blood under the retina.

How Is Macular Degeneration Diagnosed?

Many people do not realize that they have a macular problem until blurred vision becomes obvious.  Our eye doctors can detect early stages of AMD during a medical eye examination that includes the following:

  • Amsler Grid
  • Viewing the macula with special lenses;
  • Taking special photographs of the eye, called fluorescein angiography and optical coherence tomography (OCT), to find abnormal blood vessels, fluids, or blood under the retina.

How Is Macular Degeneration Treated?

Laser Surgery, PDT and Anti-VEGF Treatments

Certain types of “wet” macular degeneration can be treated with laser surgery, a brief outpatient procedure that uses a focused beam of light to slow or stop leaking blood vessels that damage the macula.  A treatment called photodynamic therapy (PDT) uses a combination of a special drug and laser treatment to slow or stop leaking blood vessels.

Another form of treatment targets a specific chemical in your body that is critical in causing abnormal blood vessels to grow under the retina.  That chemical is called vascular endothelial growth factor (VEGF).  Anti-VEGF drugs block the trouble-causing VEGF, reducing the growth of abnormal blood vessels and slowing their leakage.

These procedures may preserve more sight overall, though they are not cures that restore vision to normal.  Despite advanced medical treatment, many people with macular degeneration still experience some vision loss.

 

Adapting to Low Vision

To help you adapt to lower vision levels, your EuroEyes ophthalmologist can prescribe optical devices or refer you to a low-vision specialist or center.  A wide range of support services and rehabilitation programs are also available to help people with macular degeneration maintain a satisfying lifestyle.  Because side vision is usually not affected, a person’s remaining sight is very useful.  Often, people can continue with many of their favorite activities by using low-vision optical devices such as magnifying devices, closed circuit television, large-print reading materials and talking or computerized devices.

If you or someone you know is experiencing symptoms of macular degeneration contact Euroeyes at Jin Mao

 

 

 
Upwards

眼底黄斑变性

如何发现眼底黄斑变性及德视佳眼科(EuroEyes)在这方面的相关治疗。

什么是黄斑变性?

黄斑变性是黄斑的退形性改变或破坏性改变。黄斑是眼球后部视网膜上的一个很小区域,其功能是看清精细事物、进行日常阅读和驾驶等活动。当黄斑功能出现障碍时,您的中心视力会变得模糊、变暗或扭曲。黄斑变性会同时影响您的远近视力,使得从事一些例如穿针或阅读等活动变得困难或者完全不能从事这些活动。

虽然黄斑变性降低视网膜中心视力,但它通常不影响眼睛周边的视力。例如您能看到时钟的轮廓却不能说出是什么时间。早期黄斑变性本身不会造成完全失明,患者仍然残留一些可用的视力,并能生活自理,它对视力的影响还是比较小的。但是晚期黄斑变性对视力损害很严重,需要引起重视。

关爱父母!留住光明!-黄斑变性 (AMD)早期自我检测

在美国和世界范围内,年龄相关性黄斑变性 (AMD) 是导致50岁以上人群失明的主要原因,占全世界所有失明人群的 8.7%。黄斑变性导致严重视力减退的主要原因脉络膜新生血管CNV渗漏出血,称为湿性黄斑变性。其治疗是玻璃体内注射抗血管内皮生长因子 (VEGF) ,30-40%的患者可提高3行以上的视力,防止失明。

早期诊断和治疗黄斑变性对于保持患者的视觉和生活质量是至关重要。研究显示,如果在非常早期发现湿性黄斑变性,通过抗血管治疗,预期的视力提高会更好。

你可以在家用电脑或智能手机。帮助你的父母(祖父母)检测是否有早期视网膜变化或早期黄斑变性。

阿姆斯表是一个简单的方法,用于检测早期黄斑病变。一个视力正常的人会看到所有的直线方向。湿性黄斑变性的人看到 图中的线是波浪和扭曲的。

他们还可能会看到表格的中间是一个"洞"。

若出现上述情况,请马上联系你的医生。

如今患者可以使用网页或智能手机应用程序中的阿姆斯方格进行测试,在家中进行监测,更容易方便。

OCT 光学相干断层扫描是管理、 诊断和随访的 AMD 患者的黄金标准。它提供了详细视网膜的横断面图像,理想化的追踪和治疗黄斑变性。OCT的研发改变了AMD患者的管理方式。

我建议你使用最简便的方法,检测早期AMD。你也可以对你的父母或祖父母进行测试。如果出现波浪或是曲线,请你及时联系我们德视佳眼科。

测试使用的图片在网页下方可以找到。

黄斑变性的起因

许多老年人出现成黄斑变性是人体自然老化的过程。眼底黄斑病变有多种类型,普遍的是年龄相关性黄斑变性,也称老年性黄斑变性(age-related macular degeneration, AMD)。其确切的发病机制尚不清楚,目前尚没有疗效确切的治疗。65岁以上人群中,黄斑变性是导致严重视力下降的首要原因。

AMD分两种常见类型:萎缩性(干性)和渗出性(湿性)黄斑变性。

大部分病例是干性AMD。它是由于年龄的增长和黄斑组织变薄引起的,视力下降通常是逐渐发展的过程。

湿性AMD占总AMD的10%,但发生严重视力下降的比例很高。当视网膜下有异常血管生成,我们称之为湿性AMD。这些新生血管会引起渗漏或出血,导致中心视力模糊。视力下降通常是严重并迅速的。

视网膜下的沉积物—玻璃膜疣(Drusen)是黄斑变性的共同特征。玻璃膜疣本身不会导致视力减退,但当它的范围或数量增加时,通常预示着发展为湿性AMD的风险增加。湿性AMD高危患者通常会有明显的玻璃膜疣和干性AMD,或者另一眼有黄斑部异常新生血管.

黄斑变性的症状是什么?

在不同的人群中,黄斑变性会导致不同的症状。早期可能很难察觉到这一情况,因为有时候只有一只眼睛视力下降而另一只眼睛视力良好并持续多年。但当双眼受累时,中心视力的下降会被很快注意到。

如果你存在以下症状请到德视佳眼科(EuroEyes)诊所就诊:

  • 纸上的文字看上去模糊不清
  • 视野的中心变暗或缺损

眼底黄斑变性自我检查

纸上的文字看起来模糊或直线变得扭曲是黄斑变性的征兆。平时您可以使用阿姆斯勒方格表进行自我检查.

使用这种表格需要:

  • 1、戴上您的老花镜,在光线充足的条件下把表格放在距离您脸部30-40厘米的地方。
  • 2、遮住一只眼睛
  • 3、另外一只未遮的眼睛注视着中心点。
  • 4、当盯着中心点时,请注意直线条是否弯曲、模糊或者变暗。
  • 5、重复检测另一只眼。
眼底黄斑治疗方法

如何诊断黄斑变性?

很多人直到出现显著的视力下降才意识到自己患有黄斑变性。我们的眼科医生可以通过以下眼科检查诊断出早期的AMD:

  • 阿姆斯勒方格表
  • 使用眼底镜进行黄斑检查
  • 通过特殊检查,如荧光眼底血管造影和OCT(光学相干断层扫描)发现视网膜下异常血管、滲漏或出血。

眼底黄斑变性如何治疗?

激光治疗、光动力疗法和抗血管内皮生长因子治疗

某些类型的湿性黄斑变性可以在门诊进行激光治疗,使用聚焦的激光光束治疗可以减轻或阻止黄斑部血管的渗漏。另一种称为光动力疗法(PDT),结合使用特殊药物和激光也可以减轻或阻止血管的滲漏。

还有一种形式的治疗是针对体内一种造成视网膜异常血管生长的特殊化学物质,该物质被称为血管内皮生长因子(vascular endotheliual growth factor, VEGF)。抗VEGF药物能阻断血管内皮生长因子的作用,从而减缓异常血管的生长并减少血管的滲漏。

虽然不能完全治愈,这些治疗总体上可以保存较多的视力。但尽管有这些先进的医学治疗手段,仍有许多黄斑变性的患者还是会有部分视力损失。

适应低视力

德视佳眼科(EuroEyes)诊所的医生可以为您推荐光学助视器或低视力专家及中心,来帮助你适应低视力。广泛的配套服务和康复计划也可以帮助黄斑变性患者维持令人满意的生活方式。由于周边视力通常未受影响,患者仍可以保持非常有用的视力。通常,在助视器的帮助下,例如放大镜、闭路电视、大字体的阅读材料和朗读或计算机设备,患者还是能继续他们喜欢的活动。

如果您或者您认识的人出现黄斑变性的症状,请联系位于金茂大厦的德视佳眼科(EuroEyes)诊所。